An evening of creative inspiration

This week I went to see Elizabeth Gilbert, author of Eat Pray Love and Big Magic, being interviewed in London. I went with a group of about 15 other women, many of whom I’d met before, all of us connected in some way through Marianne Cantwell‘s courses.

Liz was asked about her new book Big Magic – Creative Living Beyond Fear, which is about the creative process, in her case writing novels and memoirs. She elaborated on a few stories from the book, and talked about working with Oprah. And in the last part of the event she answered questions from the audience, which I especially admired in the skilled way she made relevant points from each as well as sharing something new.

It was a really enjoyable evening for two reasons. Firstly that Liz was very entertaining and shared a lot of insights. I love the way she explains creativity as being in all of us, and that we all choose to express it differently and in different proportions in our lives – but that we have to use it, it’s part of us and shouldn’t be wasted or ignored no matter how silly it seems.

And secondly that I got to meet up once again with a fabulous group of women from all over the UK, some of whom I’ve known for a few years now, all of who are forging their own paths outside traditional careers and jobs. There’s something nice about catching up with friends who you don’t have to explain yourself to, who get exactly what you mean and who you trust to challenge your thinking if it’s needed.

So as I come to the end of my month of daily photographs, I’ll be looking out for my next creative challenge, inspired to just do whatever nonsensical creative thing comes into my head.

Very handily I was on W day of my photo challenge, and the event was in Westminster…

Leave a Reply

