I joined a camera club and it’s inspiring me already

I recently joined a camera club. I’m not quite sure why I’d never joined one before, as I’ve been interested in photography for as long as I can remember. But anyway, for some reason I hadn’t.

And now, even though I’ve only been to two of the meetings so far, it’s already taught me stuff and inspired me!

Yesterday evening I went to the “7pm session”, which has a different teaching topic every week – last night’s was about Photoshop Elements Organiser. I’d used this before and ended up getting annoyed with it, so thought this was an ideal session for me to attend to be reminded of the features and benefits. I was so glad I went, as I found out that the reason the feature had annoyed me was because of something I wasn’t doing correctly. Problem solved, and I’m inspired to get an updated copy for my new laptop so I can get my photos properly organised and tagged. Finally!

The two main sessions I’ve been to so far have both been competitions – one was print, and one was digital. I found myself gazing admiringly at other people’s images, critically assessing others in my own head, liking some and not liking others, and being pleased to see that I’m not the only one who takes photos of seemingly random objects or things from weird angles!

And on both occasions I’ve also had good conversations with other people who are interested in the same thing I am, whose partners also sigh whenever they take a camera out with them, and who are at varying levels of proficiency but all enjoy the fun of composing and creating photos.

I’m looking forward to picking up lots of tips, and getting inspiration for places to go, as well as hopefully finding new opportunities to learn and take photos in the company of like-minded people.

And this morning I went out for a walk and noticed that the blossom and the leaves have sprouted almost overnight – this lovely pink sight greeted me as I walked past the green earlier.

Pink blossom

Leave a Reply

