Why do I write so many blog posts about work?

I realised that I write a lot about work at the moment, much more than I have done in the past. I have been wondering why this is, especially as I don’t really like expressing how I feel about my work to people I work with or have worked with.

I suppose because I have been self-employed for the last 6 years, I’ve had nobody appraising me (yay, no appraisals!) and nobody making me set any development objectives, so I have had to find a way to do that myself. Which means that whether I’m freelancing at home or working in a team with other people in an office, I’m very aware of how I interact with people and which environments and tasks I enjoy, as well as the kinds of people I like to work with. Which means that I’m more likely to write about it.

One of the goals I set for 2015 was that I would spend a bit more time working on projects in an office as part of a team. But right now I’m not 100% fit and am not quite ready to throw myself back into the office world, which limits me to just doing freelance work from home. Plus I’m waiting for the right project to need my help. So that means work is on my mind at the moment because I feel like it will be a symbol of me getting back to “normal” when I start a big new project.

As well as that, because I’m not able to get out and about as much as I would like, there aren’t quite so many things for me to write about. The inside of my house doesn’t make for a very exciting blog topic, and neither does the block that I walk round every day to keep myself active to get my fitness back. So my focus naturally turns to work and what I’m going to do next, and I spend quite a bit of time online – chatting to various other self-employed people – so there are always topics that spring to mind from those conversations.

I can’t promise I’m not going to blog about work once I get stuck into something new, but I’ll definitely have less time on my hands, so you can guarantee I will have less time to think and to type. In the meantime, you can always read my posts on penguins or photography if you get bored with work-related subjects!

P.S. Nothing to do with the above really but I wanted to share this. I spotted a quote on LinkedIn recently that said “don’t pick a job, pick a boss” – and that really struck a chord with me. I think that having a good relationship with the person you work for is fundamental to enjoying any job or long-term contract. And that’s very individual – in the same way that we’re each unique, so are other people – and so are our relationships with others. One person’s ideal boss might be someone else’s nightmare. (I’m chuckling to myself as I think of examples of both of those…)

Getting your ducks in a row

Leave a Reply

