On the subject of quitting

Come Blog With Me – Day 3

Today my mind is on quitting. Maybe because I watched a Marie Forleo video on just that subject yesterday. But also because I’m making some decisions on the projects I’m working on, and having to be honest about my limitations in delivering them and my desire to continue with them.

I’m actually not too bad at quitting. As a Scanner (lover of many subjects, always liking shiny new things), I get to a point where something’s no longer giving me what I need. And I have to find a new project to replace it. This usually happens after many months of dedicated work, it’s rare that I quit early on. But once I’ve done the thinking, the planning, the setup and seen that something works, that’s the fun part done and it’s time to hand it to somebody else to continue. Or close it down altogether.

So I’m close to quitting on a project I’ve been working on for almost a year. I’ve learned a lot by doing it, I’ve made some money from it, and I’ve got some knowledge that I can use to make money in future if people need my help. But in its current form it’s not working for me. I could tweak it a bit more, or rebrand, or rethink it. But I don’t think that’s the right way forward, clinging onto something that’s clearly not viable.

I have no idea what I’m going to replace it with. I’ve got a couple of projects I’d like to work on, but both of those would be pro bono, so I have to make sure they don’t take up too much time. I’ve got some freelance work which is keeping me busy, but I don’t want that to be my only source of income. But that’s the benefit of being self-employed. I can start something new. I can try out a new idea. And when it no longer works for me, I can quit. And I don’t have to ask anyone else’s permission to do so.

I had a newsletter from a Feng Shui practitioner friend yesterday, all about clearing out the old to make way for the new – and that’s what quitting is. Clearing out old projects and commitments to make way for new passions and explorations. I’m excited about some of the ideas in my head, but I’m biding my time before choosing one, making sure I’m ready for whatever I choose to do next……

IMG_0609-0.JPG

3 thoughts on “On the subject of quitting

  1. Great post Nina. I’ve done a fair share of quitting in my life (twoA Levels, one degree, several jobs, four business ventures) and I’ve never once regretted it.

    My biggest fear was always losing face. Once I realised no-one cared an iota as much as I did it got a lot easier…

Leave a Reply

