Come Blog With Me – day 1

So today I start a blog challenge, led by the fabulous Lotte Lane. The idea is to write a blog post every day for 28 days……

I did something similar back in May 2012, when I did the Screw Work Let’s Play 30 Day Challenge, the results of which eventually evolved into this very blog, led to lots of different projects and put me in touch with some amazing people.

I decided to do the blog challenge to get a bit of motivation and enthusiasm for the new year. 2014 was an interesting year for me, with lots of exciting projects, discoveries and happenings. But the last couple of months of 2014 brought with them a couple of challenges that while mostly resolved are still lingering in my mind.

So here I am once again, seeking solace in writing, iPad poised to take on Lotte’s challenge and see where the writing takes me this time. I’ve decided to aim for 20 minutes writing a day, and to do it first thing in the morning before my mind gets distracted by my freelance work.

Browsing Facebook this morning, I came across a post from someone who’s trying to forge her own career outside the 9 to 5 office life, and finding it hard to talk to her family about.

It reminded me how lucky I am to have found a few online places to chat to like-minded people, and to have found some informal networking meetups to go to regularly.

There’s nothing worse than thinking you’re on your own and that nobody understands you. And if you’re trying to work for yourself, but your friends all have jobs and don’t understand your choice of work style, then it can be very isolating.

That’s the wonderful thing about the Internet – with a bit of effort you can find courses, blogs, forums and all sorts of online places to start mingling with people who share the same passions as you or are working towards similar goals.

So if you’re feeling a bit down on this wet and grey Monday morning, just seek out your “tribe” and have a chat or absorb a bit of inspiration.

IMG_2167.JPG

2 thoughts on “Come Blog With Me – day 1

Leave a Reply

