About me and my writing – a blog challenge

I was asked by Jo McHale to participate in this blogging challenge, which has been connecting bloggers from all over the world over the last few months. The idea of this challenge is to write an answer to four questions, and then to pass the ‘baton’ onto other bloggers to do the same. It’s a great way to see what other people’s businesses and blogs are all about and find some new blogs to read.

What am I working on?

I’m currently working on an e-book as part of the Screw Work Let’s Play 30 Day Challenge. I’ve written a bit about it here. It started off merely as an exploration of places near where I live, and has evolved into the creating of a short e-book about the fabulous things in my local town and surrounds. In the 30 Day Challenge the idea is that you just aim to do 20 minutes a day on the project, more if you have time. And I’ve been finding it really helpful to do it in this way. I’ve already written 5 short chapters and am making good progress with the project.

I’m also developing tools and services for creative people who need help with their project planning and organisation. People who sign up to my mailing list currently receive a couple of planning sheets that they can use to plan their social media or their weekly workload. And I have a few more ideas up my sleeve to add to the selection of free tools.

How does my work differ from others in this genre?

Many people I’ve come across who write about subjects such as planning and productivity just focus on those subjects.

What makes me different is the fact that I enjoy diverse things – I have a wide range of interests, and I like having a variety of work activities and types. This also means that I have two blogs – this one for the topics that relate to project planning and making ideas happen – and my creative blog for all manner of ramblings about my local area, creative projects, photography and penguins to name just a few.

I have also written for a number of website and publications, and published a couple of e-books.

Why do I write what I do?

Writing is my thought process.

I write to think things through, I write to communicate with people, I write to commit details and facts to memory and to document my experiences.

Because I am involved in so many interests and different types of projects, my blog post subjects are varied. I like to share information I have found or experiences that I’ve had – and I find that easy to do in writing, accompanied by images that I’ve taken that help to illustrate the points or show the places I’m talking about.

How does my writing process work?

I write best in the morning, before my mind has come across too much information from my daily work or life. So I am getting myself in the habit of doing important writing tasks, like this one, before I do anything else.

Sometimes I start with a structure, and sometimes I just type and see what happens – it just depends on what type of blog post or other written piece I’m working on. For this blog post I had a structure to start with, so I’m just going through and answering questions in order. For others, the structure emerges as I write.

And here are a couple of other writers whose blogs you should investigate…..

Lynsey uses cartoons and illustrations to explore strategies for personal and business success. A former engineer, manager, independent consultant, franchise owner and FTSE 100 Executive, Lynsey researches the latest advances in neuroscience, psychology and management to develop strategies to help people and organizations ‘achieve all that they want to achieve’.

Visit her website to see her cartoons and her blog.

Charo Pinilla is a Life Purpose Coach, EFT Practitioner and Conscious Business Mentor. She helps heart centered professionals who are stuck and lack a clear direction for their business, to clarify the contribution they are meant to make. She helps them bring their brilliance and purpose to life through products, programs and services their ideal clients really want to buy.

In 2004 she left her well respected career as an architect, that was literally making her sick, and went into a quest for a career path she could have her heart and soul in. In what finally became a healing journey, she not only found her gifts, naturals talents and purpose. She also created different businesses which led her to experience first hand many of the mistakes conscious entrepreneurs make when starting a business. Through all that learning, she figured out how to help others identify what value their are meant to bring to their clients and how to create a business in alignment with their purpose, for prosperity and inner peace.

You can visit her website in English here and in Spanish here.

Leave a Reply

